

IEEE New South Wales Section

192nd Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

Date:	Monday 04 April 2005
Time:	7.00pm – 9.00pm
Place:	Northern Sydney Institute of TAFE, Gore Hill
	Campus, Room AG20

The entrance is off Westbourne Avenue St Leonards, running east off the Pacific Highway. Enter via the staff gate, advise security guard over the intercom that you are attending an IEEE meeting in A-block. Enter Block A behind the cafeteria building.

AGENDA, Draft Resolutions

Page Nos

APOLOGIES

Apologies will be received by David Tien, Secretary, email dtien@csu.edu.au (before 5pm, 1 April) or phone/SMS 04 05 212 291 (after 2 April).

*1. STARRING OF ITEMS

Items 5, 6, 11.5 and 12.2 are already starred. The Secretary will receive requests for the starring of additional items.

that the unstarred items on the agenda for the meeting of the Executive Committee held on Monday 07 March 2005 be adopted.

pg 4 - 7

2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING to adopt the minutes of the 191st Executive Committee Meeting held on Monday, 07 March 2005 as a correct record.

- 3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES to be received.
- 4. CORRESPONDENCE to be received.
- *5. TREASURER'S REPORT
 - 5.1 <u>Budget summary</u>

acceptance of the report.

5.2 Future Auditing policy

Motion: to RECOMMEND TO THE SECTION COMMITTEE that the Section account auditing will be replaced by internal auditing.

- *6. REPORT FROM THE PRESIDING OFFICER to receive the report from the Presiding Officer.
- 7. CIRCUIT REPORT to be received.
- 8. COMMITTEE REPORTS (to be received) 8.1 <u>FELLOW SEARCH</u>

- 8.2 <u>MEMBERSHIP DEVELOPMENT</u>
- 8.3 PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
- 8.4 FELLOW SEARCH
- 8.5 EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES
- 8.6 <u>FELLOW SEARCH</u>
- 8.7 STUDENT ACTIVITIES
- 8.8 AWARDS AND RECOGNITION
- 8.9 <u>NOMINATIONS</u>
- 8.10 <u>HISTORIAN</u>

9. AFFINITY GROUPS (to be received)

- 9.1 GOLD AFFINITY GROUP
- 9.2 LIFE MEMBER ACTIVITIES

10. CHAPTER REPORTS (to be received)

- 10.1 <u>COMPUTER</u>
- 10.2 ANTENNAS & PROPAGATION / MICROWAVE THEORY & TECHNIQUES
- 10.3 COMMUNICATIONS/SIGNAL PROCESSING
- 10.4 POWER ENGINEERING
- 10.5 <u>POWER ELECTRONICS / INDUSTRIAL APPLICATIONS / INDUSTRIAL</u> ELECTRONICS
- 10.6 CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS/SOLID STATE CIRCUITS

11. CONFERENCES (report to be received)

- 11.1 ASIAN CONTROL CONFERENCE 2004 (MELBOURNE)
- 11.2 IEEE INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON SPREAD SPECTRUM TECHNIQUES AND APPLICATIONS 2004 (SYDNEY)
- 11.3 INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE IN IT AND APPLICATION (ICITA 2005) (SYDNEY)
- 11.4 <u>CREATE REALITY: CONFERENCE IN SPACIAL INFORMATION (CRCSI</u> 2007)
- *11.5 <u>REQUEST: CONFERENCE SUPPORT</u> Sam Reisenfeld will present details at the meeting.

12. OTHER BUSINESS

12.1 Chapter finance

Motion: to RECOMMEND TO THE SECTION COMMITTEE that the Treasurer keeps track of the extra income of each Chapter and that unspent extra income be carried to next year.

- *12.2 <u>Meeting place for the July meeting [David Tien]</u> Motion: to RECOMMEND TO THE SECTION COMMITTEE that the September Meeting (Sunday morning 6th November 2005) be held at Charles Sturt University in Bathurst.
- 12.3 <u>A note of thanks</u> the Committee would like to thank Stephanie for her kindness in setting up a Coffee corner during the meetings.

13. FOR YOUR INFORMATION

13.1 <u>Meeting place for the July meeting [David Tien]</u> due to the holiday closure of TAFE, the 4th July meeting will be held in Chinatown, details to be announced.

14. URGENT BUSINESS

Members wishing to introduce items of urgent business should discuss the items with the Secretary or Presiding Officer prior to the meeting.

15. NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the IEEE Executive Committee will be held on Monday 02 May 2005, at 7.00pm Northern Sydney Institute of TAFE, Gore Hill Campus, Room AG20.

The agenda closing date is 5pm of the previous working day before the meeting. (29

<u>April 2005)</u>.

IEEE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE DISTRIBUTION LIST FOR AGENDAS

IEEE NSW SECTION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

21

7

Current Membership

QUORUM

MEMBERS

Graeme Gwilliam Chair David Burger Vice Chair / Presiding Officer (while Chair is away) David Tien Secretary Ian Boyd Treasurer **Trevor Bird** Nominations Stephanie Boyd Chair Computer Chapter / Student Activities Karu Esselle **Educational Activities** Circuit Editor Eddie Fong Walter Lachs Fellow Search Jim Logothetis **Professional Activities** Stefan Mozar Member Lakshmi Narasimhan Member Bruce Poon Membership Development Faz Rahman Power Elec/Indust. Elec/Indust. Applic Chapter Chair Sam Reisenfeld Comms/SigProc Chapter Chair John Robinson **PES Chapter Treasurer** Ananda Sanagavarapu Member Graham Town Chair AP/MTT Awards and Recognition/Life Members Jim Vasseleu Sampath S. Windsor Gold Affinity Group Chair **Ramutis Zakarevicius** Historian